Driver's License and Motor Vehicle
Supervisor of Elections
Driver's License and Motor Vehicle Information
Seat Belt Laws:
All children under age 6 must be buckled up whenever they travel in a vehicle. Children up to age 3 must be secured in a federally-approved child restraint seat. Children 4-5 must be restrained by a federally-approved restraint seat or safety belt. Florida law requires anyone who rides in the front seat to be buckled up. Drivers are responsible to ensure their passengers comply with the law.
Although tourists are welcomed with an out-of-state license, when you become a resident, take a job here, or place a child in school, you must obtain a Florida driver's license within 30 days.
With a valid out-of-state driver's license, you only need to pass a vision test to obtain a Florida driver's license.
Contact (772) 778-5087 for information.
Contact (772 778-5090 for appointments.
To register your vehicle, call 567-8000, Ext 338.
You must obtain a Florida Title and register your vehicle in Florida when you become a resident, get a job, or place a child in school.
All vehicles that remain in Florida for more than 90 days must obtain property damage liability and personal injury protection insurance.
INDIAN RIVER COUNTY LIBRARY Location: 1600 21ST ST. www.irclibrary.org,
1600 21st Street
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone: (772) 770-5060
Florida residents pay NO personal state income tax, but do pay real estate tax, personal property taxes, sales taxes, and corporate taxes. Residents in only 5 U.S. states pay lower taxes than Florida. (Refer to article below)
Real Estate Tax:
Based on the tax appraised value of a home, Florida residents pay a combined assessement for city, county, and school taxes. Residents who declare Florida their permanent home (must reside here 6 months and 1 day minimum) may qualify for a $25,000 exemption. Smaller exemptions are also available based on other criteria.
Personal Property Tax:
Personal property such as bonds, stocks, accounts receivable and certain other investments are taxed at $1 per $1,000 up to $200,000 in value and $1.50 per $1,000 over $200,000. Accounts receivable, mortgages outside Florida, and annuities are taxed at $2 per $1,000. For more information, call the Florida Department of Revenue at 800-352-3671.
Florida has a basic 6% sales tax except on food, medicine, and professional services. Indian River County has added the optional increase for a total 7% sales tax.
Census Bureau Report:
Florida Taxes Residents Less Than Most States
WASHINGTON - This is one survey where it pays to be toward the bottom of the list. In a new report from the U.S. Census Bureau, Florida ranked No. 44 in the nation in terms of per capita taxes.
The average Floridian pays $1,520.98 a year in taxes. At No. 50, South Dakotans pay $1,291.92 per capita per year, or 15 percent less than Floridians. The other states with a lower tax per person than Florida are Tennessee ($1,362.71), Texas ($1,379.74), New Hampshire ($1,410.29) and South Carolina ($1,513.06).
At the top of the list, Connecticut residents pay $3,091.99, or 103 percent more in taxes than the average Floridian, though Connecticut residents also pay 7.3 percent more than the second place state, Hawaii ($2,864.89). Delaware ($2,371.14), Minnesota ($2,722.00) and Massachusetts ($2,700.18) round out the top five top tax-paying states.
Overall, Floridians pay 29 percent less than most Americans -- the national average is $1,967.54.
Indian River Supervisor of Elections